Skip to Content

Archived News

Media Release: Kruger National Park achievers dazzle for top notch

Date: 2013-06-24

“KNP Achievement Awards is an important occasion for us to express our appreciation to those employees who continue to fly the KNP flag high by making a meaningful contribution through their dedication and exceptional performance in the workplace. The idea is to honour staff members who excelled in their respective field of work during the past year or over a long period of time,” said the KNP Managing Executive, Abe Sibiya. 

Awards were given to individual staff members who have excelled in the categories of “Outstanding Service in the Workplace” and “Outstanding Service to Tourist/Client/Customer” in the past year. 

Other awards categories given were: “Ranger Post of the Year”, “Camp of the Year”, “Bush Camp of the Year”, “Department of the Year”, “Entrance Gate of the Year”, awards for “Special Team Effort”, “Innovation Award”, “Appreciation Awards”, Environmental Education contribution Award and “Managing Executive Special Awards”.

Total SA, which has supported the event since its inception, awarded the “Total SA Top Service Award” to Mopani Filling Station for the best performing petrol station in the Park.

The Awards are adjudicated by a team of high profile KNP senior managers from different departments and the facilities mentioned are judged on areas such as overall performance, implementation of various systems, financial performance and management, guest complaints and compliments, compliance to policies and general neatness of the facility.

Camp of the Year
Olifants Camp staff receives the award for “Camp of the Year” from the Managing Executive – KNP, Abe Sibiya (right). With certificate is Olifants staff member, Joyce Nkosi and carrying the trophy are Olifants’ Hospitality Services Manager, Lerato Khoza & Skukuza’s Hospitality Services Manager, Phuti Namethe

Bush Camp of the Year
The “Bush Camp of the Year” went to Talamati. Clockwise: Talamati staff, Goodness Mzimba, General Manager: Marula Region, Lucy Nhlapo, Lower Sabie Hospitality Services Manager, Ramontsho Ramfolo, Managing Executive- KNP, Abe Sibiya and Talamati’s Hospitality Manager, Thandazile Shirindzi

Ranger post of the year
The “Ranger Post of the Year” went to Crocodile Bridge. Clockwise: Corporals Abel Mkhabela and William Nkuna, Commanding Officer: Special Projects, Maj Gen Johan Jooste, Section Ranger Neels van Wyk, Sergeant Wilson Siwela and Managing Executive, Abe Sibiya

Gate of the Year
Staff from Orpen Gate receives the “Entrance Gate of the Year” award 

Managing Executive Special Award
KNP Rangers received the “Managing Executive Special Award”

Innovation reward
Dr Llewellyn Foxcroft, from Scientific Services Department received the Innovation award

Environmental Education Contribution Award
Mkhuhlu’s Londindha Primary School received the Environmental Education Contribution Award. Clockwise: KNP’s Environmental Outreach Project Coordinator, Lindiwe Chuma, Principal RJ Mabuza, learners Delight Gumede and Welcome Mkhabela, Educator, Irene Chiloane and Managing Executive, Abe Sibiya.


Issued by:
South African National Parks (SANParks) KNP Communications: 
Tel: 013 735 4262

William Mabasa
HOD: Public Relations and Communication, Kruger National Park
Tel: 013 735 4363; Cell: 082 807 3919