Skip to Content

Archived News

Media Release: KNP Achievement Awards

Date: 2006-11-20

For the eighth year in a row, the Kruger National Park (KNP) presented achievement awards to its top camps, gates, ranger stations, departments, regions and staff at the 2006 KNP Achievement Awards function in Skukuza (Friday November 17, 2006).

“This is our attempt to honour those members of our staff who have excelled during the past year or who have given excellent service to our guests over a long period of time,” said KNP Executive Director Dr Bandile Mkhize.

SANParks Chief Operating Officer, Mr Sydney Soundy presented the following awards:
• Best Region of the Year was presented to Nkayeni Region (Between the Olifants and Sabie rivers).
• Best Department of the Year was presented to Veterinary Wildlife Services.
• Camp of the Year was presented to Berg en Dal Main Camp.
• Bush Camp of the Year was presented to Biyamiti Bush Camp.
• Ranger Post of the Year was presented to Mooiplaas Ranger’s Post (Area includes Mopani Main Camp).
• Entrance Gate of the Year was presented to Giriyondo Tourist Access Facility.

Outstanding Service in the Workplace awards were presented to the following individuals:

Januario Fernandes – Conservation Services
Kenneth Ntimane – Conservation Services
Sue Eber – Conservation Services
Collert Nyathi – Technical Services
Lizzy Mafumu – Technical Services
Rodgers Khoza – Technical Services
Eugene Swanepoel – Technical Services
Robert Greighton – Technical Services
Renate Ackerman – Finance
Hittlers Mathebula – Finance
Sandra MacFadyen – Scientific Services
Dr Stephanie Freitag-Ronaldson – Scientific Services
Moses Mathe – Scientific Services
Sanania Khosa – Human Resources
Phineas Nxumalo – Human Resources
Margaret Lubisi – Human Resources
Elias Maluleke – Human Resources
Maureen Gunn – Director’s Department
Arrie Schreiber – Corporate Investigation Services
Brian Beauchamp – Corporate Investigation Services
Sinna Mphatse – Public Relations
Lerato Mathole – Public Relations
Corrie Booyens – Protection Services
Busi Sambo – Marula Region
Sharrel Ngomane – Marula Region
Irvin Knight – Marula Region
Julias Sibuyi – Marula Region
Daniel Shibambo – Marula Region
Freddy Maluleke – Nkayeni Region
Olga Mashele – Nkayeni Region
Tinyiko Chauke – Nkayeni Region
Lerato Khoza – Nkayeni Region
Tsakane Maluleke – Nxanatseni Region
Alita Khosa – Nxanatseni Region
Jerry Matshebele – Nxanatseni Region
Issan Hlungwane – Nxanatseni Region

Outstanding Service to Tourists/Clients/Customers Awards were presented to the following individuals:

Shireen Smith – Director’s Department
Ezekiel Manyathele – Marula Region
Duncan Mnisi – Marula Region
Gordon Ramsden – Nkayeni Region

Other awards were also presented to various people and organisations who received the Director’s Special Awards and from Total SA for the camps with the top-performing filling stations.

The 2006 KNP Achievement Awards were the first to be broadcast live on local radio stations Ligwalagwala FM and Munghana Lonene FM. SAfm radio personality Mr Ike Phaahla acted as the programme director and the guest speaker was Mr Desmond Golding, the Deputy Director General: 2010 in the Mpumalanga Premier’s Office.

The KNP has three regions, 12 main camps, five bush camps, 22 ranger posts and about 1 900 SANParks appointed staff members.