Skip to Content

Archived News

Media Release: KNP achievers shine at Achievement Awards ceremony

Date: 2010-04-19

Entrance Gate of the Year

Phalaborwa Gate won

"Entrance Gate of the Year"

For a long time glitzy events that happened in big cities such as Johannesburg could only be watched, heard or read on the media but then came the Kruger National Park (KNP) Achievement Awards and suddenly life wandered into the jungle. The 11th KNP Achievement Awards took place on Friday, 16 April 2010 in Skukuza and the award winners were the main attraction as the entire venue became abuzz with excitement when they scooped awards at the historical event.

Staff and guests attending the award ceremony heard addresses by senior officials from government, SABC and Total SA. With soccer as the theme for this year’s event, Mr Greg Fredericks who is the Manager, CEO’s office: 2010 FIFA World Cup was the guest speaker and encouraged attendees to spare no effort in ensuring that the country’s biggest soccer event coming up in June 2010 becomes a success and updated them on the status of the stadiums from all the host cities.

“The word success is generally associated with hard work, though the word itself is easy to find in the dictionary, but attaining the actual success is definitely never an easy thing, hence I would like to congratulate our staff members who are going to receive their awards tonight and thank them for the contribution they make in the organisation as individuals and as groups”, said the KNP Managing Executive, Mr Abe Sibiya in his welcome address.

Awards given at the event included: Camp of the Year, Bush Camp of the Year, Entrance Gate of the Year, Ranger Post of the Year, Wilderness Trails Camp of the Year, Concession of the Year, Region of the Year, Shop of the Year, Department of the Year, an award for a “Special Team Effort”, Managing Executive Special Awards, Appreciation Awards and Bravery Awards.

Bush Camp of the Year

Sirheni won
"Bush Camp of the


This year the media had a large presence at the event, with five of the SABC radio stations i.e. SAfm, Munghana Lonene FM, Phalaphala FM, Thobela FM and Ligwalagwala broadcasting the event live directly from the venue. Most locally-based newspapers and commercial radio stations also had representatives at the event. The event also included some of the most influential delegates from Mpumalanga and Limpopo provinces, Executive Mayors, General Managers from SABC, traditional leaders, and other high ranking officials of different companies from all over the country.

The “Ranger Post of the Year” award went to Malelane, Wolhuter received the “Wilderness Trails Camp of the Year” award, and the “Shop of the Year” award went to Berg-en-Dal. Nxanatseni Region’s Sirheni scooped the “Bush Camp of the Year” award while Phalaborwa received the “Entrance Gate of the Year”, the “Camp of the Year” award went to Letaba making Nxanatseni the “Region of the Year” and the “best filling station” award went to Mopani Camp for top service.

The “Department of the Year” award went to Finance while the “Special Team Effort” award this year went to Veterinary Wildlife Services and the “Concession of the Year” award went to Tinga Concession, which is situated near Skukuza. The “Appreciation Awards” went to the Honorary Rangers who have over the years continued to donate goods worth millions in support of the KNP on a voluntary basis without expecting anything in return. Nestle also received the “Appreciation Award” for being there for KNP over the years, lending a hand whenever there are events in the park.

Ranger Post of the Year

Malelane won
"Ranger Post of

the Year"

This year’s event also included the “Managing Executive Special Awards” with Johnson Khoza receiving an individual special award for his efforts in sorting out the administration of the Warehouse during the past year. The Public Relations Department also received a special award for the manner in which the department kept the KNP Achievement Awards going in the past 11 years without any serious financial cost to the organization. The third special award went to the Rangers and Environmental Crime and Investigations staff for their effort in combating the escalating poaching incidences in the park particularly rhino poaching.

Individual awards were given to the following people who showed “Outstanding Service in the Work Place”:

Aurel Nyambi, Ben du Plessis, Annah Mlangeni, Dr Sam Ferreira, Dr Izak Smit, Victoria Nxumalo, Sinna Mphatse, Itumeleng Khadambi, Gerson Sekwena, John Mnyuku, Amon Sibuyi, George Sibuyi, Mbongeni Tukela, Amos Tivane, Edward Masambu, Thomas Macie, Silas Mukoki, Rodney Landela and Tebogo Maboko.

Individual Awards for “Outstanding Service to Tourists/Clients/Customers” were given to the following individuals:

  • Nicolaas Coetzee, Kally Ubisi, Saul Hlatshwayo, Samson Mabasa, Frank Mbungela, Rodgers Hobyane.

The “Bravery Awards” were the last category and led to an emotional tribute to the three men and one woman who saved their colleagues and guests’ lives in dangerous situations in the bush in the past year as follows:

  • Lindiwe Ngobo, Sgt Isaac Hlongwane, Samuel Milani and Enock Manyiqe

The KNP Achievement Awards started in 1998 as a year-end party, after which management decided that it should be held annually as a staff achievement awards ceremony and the idea was to honour staff members who excelled in their respective field of work during the past year or over a long period of time and as such make the KNP a world icon that it is. The event has since grown in status and continues to play a big role in encouraging the men and women who go an extra mile in their field of work every year.

For more images of the event, browse the Gallery.

Issued by:

Laura Mukwevho, Media Relations Practitioner, Kruger National Park. Contact: Tel: (013) 735 4262, cell: 082 807 1441or email:


William Mabasa, HOD: Public Relations and Communication, Kruger National Park. Contact: Tel: (013) 735 4363, cell: 082 807 3919 or email: