Skip to Content

Teleconverters/extenders

Discuss and share your wildlife photography, filming and equipment
User avatar
vinkie
Distinguished Virtual Ranger
Distinguished Virtual Ranger
Posts: 16672
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 7:07 pm
Location: Living in The Netherlands but raised in South Africa

Re: Use a Converter or not?

Unread post by vinkie » Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:02 pm

@DuQues: Thanks for the tip....I don't know if it's possible to hire a converter in Holland?

Don't want to spend too much money on a converter but an Converter Kit for the Nikon costs 200,- euro by Kenko....better to buy a good Flashlight for this money I think :mrgreen:

The 70-300mm lens is a good Super-zoom lens of course a xx-500mm would be nicer but you must have the budget and the time to visit places like Kruger more often :lol: unfortunately we don’t have that opportunity :(

Which spots do you recommend for birding?
Live life on the edge but be careful not to fall off! :wink:


Our 2013 Trip Report: Vinkie and Apex Predator back in the bushveld

:dance: Planning our 2017 trip to Kruger National Park or Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park :dance:

User avatar
DuQues
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Posts: 14520
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:42 pm
Location: Red sand, why do I keep thinking of red sand?

Re: Use a Converter or not?

Unread post by DuQues » Fri Jun 10, 2011 7:54 am

PM sent.
Not posting much here anymore, but the photo's you can follow here There is plenty there.

Feel free to use any of these additional letters to correct the spelling of words found in the above post: a-e-t-n-d-i-o-s-m-l-u-y-h-c

User avatar
harrys
Junior Virtual Ranger
Junior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 4066
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:22 am
Location: Boksburg

Canon 2x extender

Unread post by harrys » Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:31 pm

Can anyone please tel me what a 2x extender lense do :hmz: , reason why I ask, a friend of my FIL told him that when you use a 2x extender lense on his 300 mm lense it will be like a 600mm lense :hmz:
Say NO to hotels in KNP!!!

User avatar
saraf
Distinguished Virtual Ranger
Distinguished Virtual Ranger
Posts: 7431
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 3:19 pm
Location: Portsmouth, England

Re: Canon 2x extender

Unread post by saraf » Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:45 pm

That is exactly what it does.

But. You can only use them on certain lenses, usually only L series but not all of them. And you will loose two F-Stops, making the lens a lot "slower" e.g. on a 2.8 rated lens you would loose 2.8 and 4 so the best F-Stop you would get would be 5.6.
Want to say Thank You or Well Done to a fellow 'mite? Why not nominate them for a Kudu?

User avatar
DuQues
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Posts: 14520
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:42 pm
Location: Red sand, why do I keep thinking of red sand?

Re: Canon 2x extender

Unread post by DuQues » Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:56 pm

Correct, but there are downsides to it;
- it shows all the faults of the lens.
- autofocus will be slower, or be switched off entirely
- switching it in and out can let dust onto your sensor

Have a look at this page. It is a good appraisal.
On my 100-400 I do use the 1.4, but I do not have AF then, as my 7D will not use AF above f/5.6.

But if you have a good lens (L-series) and you really need the longer lens it is a great tool.
Not posting much here anymore, but the photo's you can follow here There is plenty there.

Feel free to use any of these additional letters to correct the spelling of words found in the above post: a-e-t-n-d-i-o-s-m-l-u-y-h-c

User avatar
Bartman
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:31 pm
Location: The windy city of EL

Camera gear - Cannon 450D

Unread post by Bartman » Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:53 am

Hi mites

This is a question for those clued up mites who know their camera's!! :cam:

We have a Cannon EOS 450D body with 2x lens 75-300mm 1:4-5.6 and 18-55mm which was purchased as a kit.

My question is what lens or other attachment can we purchase to enable better pics of animals further away?

What is a converter and how does it work? Would this be an option?

Looking forward to your replies.
4 July Maroela
5,6&7 July - Letaba
8-15 July Skukuza

Camping with a Metalian Maxi

User avatar
DuQues
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Posts: 14520
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:42 pm
Location: Red sand, why do I keep thinking of red sand?

Re: Camera gear - Cannon 450D

Unread post by DuQues » Mon Aug 13, 2012 10:01 am

Any lens with a Canon mount will fit. The big question is which lens will fit your budget....
Do you have a maximum amount in mind?

A converter... Lazy mod, giving you a link to save typing: Teleconverter
There is a big but though, your camera will not auto focus above f/5.6, so unless you buy a f/4 lens (big money) you will have to resort to manual focus.
Not posting much here anymore, but the photo's you can follow here There is plenty there.

Feel free to use any of these additional letters to correct the spelling of words found in the above post: a-e-t-n-d-i-o-s-m-l-u-y-h-c

User avatar
Bartman
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:31 pm
Location: The windy city of EL

Re: Camera gear - Cannon 450D

Unread post by Bartman » Tue Aug 14, 2012 9:16 am

Thanks DuQues :clap:

Budget is an important issue. From what I looked up on the internet a converter would cost about R2000 - R3000. Is that about right?
4 July Maroela
5,6&7 July - Letaba
8-15 July Skukuza

Camping with a Metalian Maxi

User avatar
DuQues
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Posts: 14520
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:42 pm
Location: Red sand, why do I keep thinking of red sand?

Re: Camera gear - Cannon 450D

Unread post by DuQues » Tue Aug 14, 2012 9:49 am

Bit more expensive than here, so that sounds about right.

A little warning, Kelko makes cheaper ones, but it doesn't tell the camera that it is there. Now that is handy as the camera will probably still use AF, but it will not take into account the stop light you lose.
If you buy the Canon one (my choice) make sure it will fit your lens! As you can see in the photo here it has a protruding part, and cannot be used on all lenses. But in the same link is a table of lenses that will fit. ;)

There are several versions of the converter, no need to go for the latest really. You might pick up a second hand version 1, which will work just as well.
Not posting much here anymore, but the photo's you can follow here There is plenty there.

Feel free to use any of these additional letters to correct the spelling of words found in the above post: a-e-t-n-d-i-o-s-m-l-u-y-h-c

Geckophobe
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 9:33 am
Location: Pretoria

Which teleconverter to use with Canon 550D?

Unread post by Geckophobe » Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:20 am

I am in the process of buying a better camera (in stead of a good "mik en druk" ) for the first time, and I have decoded on the Canon 550D, the best deal I could find in my budget- and I have seen a number of good reviews also on this forum.

I am looking for a teleconverter to use with the canon 55-250 lens? Which would you recommend?
Satara : 8,9 July 2013
Lower-Sabie : 10,11,12,13, July 2013

User avatar
DuQues
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Posts: 14520
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:42 pm
Location: Red sand, why do I keep thinking of red sand?

Re: Which teleconverter to use with Canon 550D?

Unread post by DuQues » Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:12 am

To be honest I would recommend none.

Your camera will use autofocus up to f/5.6. The teleconverter will take 1 (1.4x) or 2 (2x) stops of light which means that in combination with your f/4-5.6 lens you will have to use manual focus all the way.

If you decide to buy one anyway I would go for the Canon 1.4, that one does not degrade the image quality. With the 2.0 version you will see the IQ going down.
Not posting much here anymore, but the photo's you can follow here There is plenty there.

Feel free to use any of these additional letters to correct the spelling of words found in the above post: a-e-t-n-d-i-o-s-m-l-u-y-h-c

User avatar
Kicker Cat
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:27 pm

Re: Which teleconverter to use with Canon 550D?

Unread post by Kicker Cat » Mon Oct 08, 2012 7:59 pm

Hi Gekophobe,

The advice given so far is probably spot on - the reason is that the lens you have is a kit lense - and by the way a very superb one at that. My wife has one of those lenses with her D400 and she gets fantastic pics - in fact I have a 70 - 300 lens that is hugely more expensive and I have to say that it does not give that much better pics.

If you go to a much better lens as I feel sure you will want to do eventually then you can consider a converter and the best one is the 1.4.

Can I add - you will lose about 2 stops on the lense but in the really bright light we have here it does not make that much difference - you should be able to get really good shots - look for a photographer called Gary Parker on the web - his pics are superb and he uses a 1.4 with his 100 - 400 lense.

KR

KC

Geckophobe
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 9:33 am
Location: Pretoria

Re: Which teleconverter to use with Canon 550D?

Unread post by Geckophobe » Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:43 pm

Thank you for the good advice. I have now actually started playing around with the new camera - taking pictures of everything I see:). It is an awesome experience! I have to admit that I have a lot to learn and I have been thinking of taking a course or two. In addition, there is so much useful info on the forum. Can't wait for my next Kruger trip which is unfortunately only in July next year! In the meantime we have atrip to Golden Gate planned-so I will have time to practice.
Satara : 8,9 July 2013
Lower-Sabie : 10,11,12,13, July 2013

EOS_User
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:30 pm
Location: A grey UK ! Longing to be in SA !

Re: Which teleconverter to use with Canon 550D?

Unread post by EOS_User » Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:39 pm

Geckophobe wrote:I am in the process of buying a better camera (in stead of a good "mik en druk" ) for the first time, and I have decoded on the Canon 550D, the best deal I could find in my budget- and I have seen a number of good reviews also on this forum.

I am looking for a teleconverter to use with the canon 55-250 lens? Which would you recommend?


I stand to be corrected; but I'm sure that the 55-250 will NOT accept an extender/teleconverter. It is certainly not compatible with either of the Canon options. It 'may' accept a third-party (maybe Sigma) teleconverter; but you should test that theory first before buying.

Cheers;

Lee

User avatar
timbo
Junior Virtual Ranger
Junior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 582
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 7:16 pm
Location: Somewhere far far far away

Re: Which teleconverter to use with Canon 550D?

Unread post by timbo » Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:46 pm

EOS_User wrote:
Geckophobe wrote:I am in the process of buying a better camera (in stead of a good "mik en druk" ) for the first time, and I have decoded on the Canon 550D, the best deal I could find in my budget- and I have seen a number of good reviews also on this forum.

I am looking for a teleconverter to use with the canon 55-250 lens? Which would you recommend?


I stand to be corrected; but I'm sure that the 55-250 will NOT accept an extender/teleconverter. It is certainly not compatible with either of the Canon options. It 'may' accept a third-party (maybe Sigma) teleconverter; but you should test that theory first before buying.

Cheers;

Lee


As far as I know, you are absolutely correct. The 55-250 is an ef-s lens and will not be accepted by the ef converter. Canons converters are made to work with strictly ef lenses.

But I may be getting it wrong
I try my best and that's what matters I hope.


Return to “Wildlife Photography Enthusiasts”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Webcam Highlights

Addo
Submitted by Nosey1810 at 16:17:18
orpen
Submitted by Nosey1810 at 16:17:28
satara
Submitted by Pjw at 14:39:31
nossob
Submitted by Anonymous at 09:06:20