Skip to Content

  • Unite Against Poaching
  • Scam Watch
  • Honorary Rangers
  • Go WILD on your mobile! Download Wildlife Ringtones

Donate to your Cause!

  • Adopt so our Rhino don't die

Fresh off the Webcams

  • Orpen
  • Satara
  • Addo

Kudu Awards 2009

Kudu Awards Winners

Corporate Contribution to Conservation Award (Individual):

  • Dr Ian Player, and Professor Kevin Rogers of University of Witwatersrand

Corporate Contribution to Conservation Award (Non-Profit):

  • George Municipality

Business Partner of the Year:

  • Ilanga Travel

Concession Partner of the Year:

  • Jock Safari Lodge

Environmental Media Contribution to Conservation (Best Journalist):

  • Michelle Garforth-Venter

Environmental Media Contribution to Conservation (Best Publication/Programme/Website):

  • Getaway Magazine

Community Contribution to Conservation (Group):

  • Morokweng Seedling and, Outeniqua Eco-Hives Merit Award to National Association of Conservancies

Community Contribution to Conservation (Individual):

  • Rob and Julie Filmer and,Jean Lindsay

Community contribution to conservation award – Honorary Ranger Region of the Year:

  • Lowveld Region

Community contribution to conservation – Project of the Year:

  • African Penguin Project

Environmental Education/Capacity Building (Group):

  • Greater Taung Municipality

Environmental Education/Capacity Building (Individual):

  • Merit Award to Elliot M Mokatsane

- Summaries of the various winners -

Chief Executive Awards Winners

Website Community Choice Award

  • Lourens Botha

Excellent Performance in the Workplace

  • Laura Mukwevhu
  • Jeremiah Ndaba
  • Christine Du Plessis
  • Mpho Cedric Setlhako
  • Stefan Cilliers
  • Sheldon Matthys
  • Willem Shongwane
  • Marionette Prinsloo
  • Mariam Robson

Best Constituency Builder Award

  • Moipone Nelly Tau

Merit Award Winner in this Category: Alexis Symonds

Best Customer Service Award (4 winners)

  • Jampolo Mosea
  • Flora Mailula
  • Sara Sambo
  • Mokala National Park

Leadership Award

  • Andre Riley

Best Performing Region Award

  • Arid Region

Best Performing Division/Unit Award

  • Business Development Unit

Best Performing Camp Award

  • Mountain Zebra Rest Camp
  • Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

Best Ranger Post Award

  • Olifants Ranger Post

Best Performing Park Award

  • Wilderness National Park

Merit Award Winner in this Category: Table Mountain National Park

Chief Executive’s Special Award

  • Lynnete Makukule

Shield Award for Bravery

  • Januario Valoi

Lifetime Achievement Award

- Summaries of the various winners -

General Information:

The Kudu Awards is an initiative that aims to reward stakeholders for their contributions and efforts in making South African National Parks the custodian of choice for protected areas.

A select number of persons and organisations who have made significant contributions to conservation will receive a Kudu Award in the form of a bronze sculpture of a Kudu head. The award is a thing of pride, just as the Kudu itself is often feted for having a proud and majestic bearing.

The Kudu Awards is fundamental to the practice of recognising, acknowledging and praising the people who have, over the years, given financial and other resources to SANParks and other conservation agencies, while also recognising those people that have made it possible for conservation agencies to operate in a conducive and enabling environment.

Internal staff members will be bestowed with "top achievers" awards, known as the Chief Executive Awards. This national award recognises their dedication and selfless efforts towards acheiving the goals of the organisation from across 22 National Parks under SANParks management. The Chief Executive Awards are meant to encourage staff to do their work with 'pride and joy' and to always view this organisation as their personal business.

The Kudu Awards is an annual event that launched in June 2005, and is one of the highlights of the social calendar in conservation circles.