Skip to Content

Archived News

Media Release: Entries open for SANParks' Environmental Journalist Awards

26 June 2013

This according to SANParks: Head of Communications, Paul Daphne, who said the Environmental Media Contribution to Conservation award category of the Kudu Awards – is presented to conservation/environmental journalists/media entities that have been considered to have conducted their reporting in a socially responsible manner and have also given extensive and balanced reporting on conservation related matters.

According to Daphne the Environmental Media Contribution to Conservation Award category forms part of the annual SANParks Kudu Awards – designed to recognize external stakeholders for their contributions and efforts in making South African National Parks the custodian of choice for the national parks system in South Africa. “It aims at enhancing equitable and sustainable relationships with various external communities with a particular caring interest to the national parks of our country and conservation of our natural heritage in general.” 

He said the event, now in its eighth year, has seen a good interest from members of the public in the last few years and which last year saw a massive contribution of R200 000 for the prizes from First National Bank (FNB). “This shows that there is a lot of passion for our parks from our patrons and all have a need to be recognised as the best in conservation of our biodiversity.”

The other awards categories are the Corporate Contribution to Conservation Award – this category recognises organisations/companies/persons that have made significant contributions to conservation, whether through the awarding of land, funds, human resources or have entered into a business relationship with SANParks. This award compromises of sets of awards: Business Partner of the Year (an internal award), Individual Contribution, Corporate Contribution – Profit Making Institutions as well as Corporate Contribution – Non Profit Making Institution.

The third category looks at the Community Contribution to Conservation – this award is given to an individual/group/project that has advanced the cause of sustainable conservation of our biodiversity and cultural heritage. There are also two sets of awards in this category: Community Contributor to Conservation and the Honorary Ranger of the Year (an internal award).

The fourth category is the Environmental Education/Capacity Building Award – this award is given to an educator/group of educators who have contributed to educational programmes that further the conservation of our biodiversity and cultural heritage. The last category is the Website Community Choice award.

We hereby invite all members of the public, private companies, media institutions to submit their nominations of individuals, groups or companies involved in conservation within the above categories for the Kudu Award by 26 July 2013. 

The awards winners will be announced at a gala function to be held in Gauteng later in the year.

For more information and nomination forms contact:
Itshekeng Mokone
Tel (012) 426 5058
Christinah Chauke
Tel: (012) 426 5203

Issued by:
South African National Parks (SANParks) Corporate Communications 

Media enquiries:          
Reynold “Rey” Thakhuli
General Manager: Media Relations and Events
Tel: (012) 426 5203 / 073 373 4999