Skip to Content

Archived News

Media release: MyAddo Photo Competition Winners

27 February 2012

MyAddo Photographic Competition ended on 31 January 2012 with 680 entries received from all over South Africa and from International visitors especially from Germany and the Netherlands. The competition was a great success as R15,900 was raised for Addo Elephant National Park’s conservation efforts.

The competition judges, world renowned judges and photographers Barrie Wilkins and Jill Sneesby were supported by well-known Port Elizabeth photographer Luc Horsten, had an extremely difficult task in choosing a winner from the two categories.

At the prize giving ceremony held on Wednesday, 22 February, at Katz Camera World in Port Elizabeth, the winners received in excess of R20,000 in Katz vouchers, plus accommodation prizes from Lalibele Game Reserve, Pumba Private Reserve and Addo Elephant National Park.

The winning images are as follows:

SLR Category
1st Trix Jonker - Lion and Warthog
2nd Lorne Sulcas – Group of elephants
3rd Rainer Schimpf – Penquins
Commended: Maureen Bosche, B Coltz, Cherrie Smith, Leanne Konslie, J Felizando, Leanne du Plooy and Leane Ile

Point and Shoot Category
1st Nadine Shortland– Elephant shaking his head
2nd Brian Chambers – Baby elephants
3rd Dean Truter - Spider
Commended: Jed Bird , Andrew Miller, Lloyd Edwards, Willie du Toit, and T Gudeman

Point and Shoot Winners

SLR Winners