Skip to Content

Media Release: Kudu Awards 2009 Finalists announced

Date: 2009-06-04

Facebook Pinterest Twitter LinkedIn Google+

The finalists in the 2009 Kudu Awards programme, organised by South African National Parks (SANParks) have been announced.

The finalists in the 2009 Kudu Awards programme, organised by South African National Parks (SANParks) have been announced.

The Kudu Awards, running for the fifth year, recognizes external stakeholders for their contributions and efforts to conservation as well their assistance in making SANParks a premier conservation agency in South Africa. “It aims at enhancing equitable and sustainable relationships with various external communities with a particular caring interest to the national parks of our country,” said SANParks Chief Executive Dr David Mabunda.

A record number of 32 category entries were received this year.

Dr Mabunda said a total of 19 individuals, companies, journalists and media institutions made it to the finalists.

He said SANParks has seen good interest from members of the public in the last few years. “This shows that there is a lot of passion for our parks from our patrons and all have a need to be recognised as the best in the conservation of our biodiversity.”

“It is for this reason that we need to celebrate these achievements by paying tribute to those who worked effortlessly in putting our parks on the forefront of conservation.”

In the category Corporate Contribution to Conservation Award the finalists are Professor Kevin Rogers of University of Witwatersrand and Sharon Pollard also of the University of Witwatersrand. This category recognises organisations/companies/person that has made significant contributions to conservation, whether through the awarding of land, funds, and human resources or has entered into business relationship with SANParks. This award comprises of sets of awards: Business Partner of the Year, Individual Contribution, and Corporate Contribution – Profit Making Institutions as well as Corporate Contribution – Non Profit Making Institution.

The Environmental Media Contribution to Conservation finalists are Michelle Garforth-Venter of Ezinkulu Productions and Tony Carnie of Independent Newspapers in Kwa-Zulu Natal – this award is presented conservation/environmental journalists that have been considered to have conducted their reporting in a socially responsible manner and have also given extensive and balanced reporting on conservation related matters. The award consists of two sets of categories: Best Journalist (Across of All Media) and Best Publication/Programme/Website.

The third category with the following finalists Morokweng Seedling in Taung, North West and Outeniqua Eco-Hives in the Garden Route National Park looked at the Community Contribution to Conservation – this award is given to an individual/group/project that has advanced the cause of sustainable conservation of our biodiversity and cultural heritage. There are also two sets awards in this category: Community Contributor to Conservation and the Honorary Ranger of the Year.

The last category is Environmental Education/Capacity Building award and the finalist is Mr. EM Mokatsane from Kroonstad – this award shall be given to an educator/group of educators who have contributed to educational programmes that further the conservation of our biodiversity and cultural heritage.

The winners will receive their awards at a ceremony to be held at Gallagher Estates on 25 June 2009.

Issued by:
Reynold “Rey” Thakhuli, General Manager: Media, Events and Stakeholder Relations, Tel: 012 426 5203 / 083 552 2020,

Media Enquiries:
Ms. wanda mkutshulwa, Head of Communications, South African National Parks, Tel: 012 426 5201, Cell: 082 908 2692, E-mail:

Online Bookings

Browse accommodation and activities availability, and book online via our secure payment system and get 5% discount (excludes activities)


Get a Wild Card!

Get unlimited access to most of Southern Africa’s premier conservation areas.

Wild Card

Membership is valid from date of purchase for 365 days and is available for an individual, couple or family, as well as international guests. Learn more...

Purchase Membership

Latest Forum Posts

Join our ForumsAlready a member? Login!

Fresh off the Webcams

Addo Webcam
Addo Elephant National Park
Nossob Webcam
Nossob Camp, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Orpen Webcam
Orpen, Kruger National Park
Satara Webcam
Satara, Kruger National Park

Public Sighting of the Month

May Winning Image
Vervet monkeys near Lower Sabie, Kruger National Park - by Martie Murray

Central Supplier Database

Central Supplier Database
SANParks requests all existing and new suppliers who are interested in conducting business with SANParks to register on the National Treasury Central Supplier Database (CSD)