Skip to Content

Media Release: Hard work recognised at KNP Achievement Awards

Date: 2009-04-20

Facebook Pinterest Twitter LinkedIn Google+

Hard work, going the extra mile and excellent performance were recognised at the glittering Kruger National Park’s 10th Achievement Awards in Skukuza on Friday April 17, 2009.

There was an official toast
to all the recipients at the KNP
Achievement Awards

Hard work, going the extra mile and excellent performance were recognised at the glittering Kruger National Park’s 10th Achievement Awards in Skukuza on Friday April 17, 2009.

Acting KNP Managing Executive Mr Abe Sibiya congratulated those who achieved awards in his welcoming speech and urged them to think “out of the box”.

“I also thank you for your hard work and efforts over the past year, it must be remembered that this hard work you do helps build the good name the Kruger National Park has in both the conservation and tourism industry,” commented Mr Sibiya.

Satara Rest Camp squeezed ahead of its rivals for the award “Camp of the Year”, Talamati Bush Camp received the award “Bush Camp of the Year” and the “Entrance Gate of the Year” award went to the recently upgraded Orpen Entrance Gate.

Olifants Section Ranger Evans Mkhansi accepted the award for “Ranger Post of the Year” and Sweni Trails Camp received the award for the “Wilderness Trails Camp of the Year”. This is the first year that this award has been presented.

Another new award, the award for a “Special Team Effort” went to Ms Karen van Rooyen and her team from the Wildlife Products Processing Plant for their efforts in arranging the successful ivory auction last year.

The “Concession of the Year” award went to Lukimbi Concession, which is situated in the South of the KNP near Malelane Entrance Gate.

Individual awards were given to the following people in the category of “Outstanding Service in the Workplace”:
Johan Enslin, Isaac Khosa, Piet van Wyk, Alfred Ngwenya, William Masindi, Hitlers Mathebula, Jacob Mlangeni, Lindiwe Mbowane, Sherlock Shabangu, Simon Marutha, Mirriam Robson, Deborah Mazibane, France Nhlongo, Neels van Wyk, Elvis Maluleke, Tebalelo Soke, Freddy Maluleke, Patrick Chauke, Solomon Hlungwani, Januario Valoi and Lolly Nyundu.

Awards for “Outstanding Service to Tourists/Clients/Customers were given to the following individuals:
Jobe Shabangu, Christopher Muthathi, Kally Ubisi, Laura Mkwevho, Flora Mailula, Sarah Sambo, Obakeng Koma, Pilato Malapane, Christa von Elling and Rodgers Hobyane.

The KNP Achievement Awards are held annually to recognise excellent performance by KNP staff members. Those who receive KNP Achievement Awards are considered eligible for the prestigious SANParks Kudu Awards which will be held later this year.

Have a look at all the award recipients for the event!

Issued by:
Raymond Travers, Media Relations Practitioner, Kruger National Park. Contact: Tel: (013) 735 4116, cell: 082 908 2677 or email:

William Mabasa, HOD: Public Relations and Communication, Kruger National Park. Contact: Tel: (013) 735 4363, cell: 082 807 3919 or email:

Online Bookings

Browse accommodation and activities availability, and book online via our secure payment system and get 5% discount (excludes activities)


Get a Wild Card!

Get unlimited access to most of Southern Africa’s premier conservation areas.

Wild Card

Membership is valid from date of purchase for 365 days and is available for an individual, couple or family, as well as international guests. Learn more...

Purchase Membership

Latest Forum Posts

Join our ForumsAlready a member? Login!

Fresh off the Webcams

Addo Webcam
Addo Elephant National Park
Nossob Webcam
Nossob Camp, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Orpen Webcam
Orpen, Kruger National Park
Satara Webcam
Satara, Kruger National Park

Public Sighting of the Month

August Winning Image
Lions watching their prey, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park - by Willie Visagie