Skip to Content

Teleconverters/extenders

Discuss and share your wildlife photography, filming and equipment

Moderator: lion queen

User avatar
Neil Crawford
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:04 am
Location: Sweden

Unread postby Neil Crawford » Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:08 pm

Heres some photos from Iceland (sorry I haven't been able to do this comparison yet in SA). I think they show fairly typical quality when I use the different teleconverters

1.4x : here it's difficult to see any difference to the 400 lens, you lose a step, but you can get closer
http://www.flickr.com/photos/22594688@N ... 658668904/

2X: feather detail begins to get softer, but I wouldn't have got the shot without it.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/22594688@N ... 658668904/

Stacked 1.4x + 2x: This was taken at ridiculous range, and sure it's not great, but much better than nothing.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/22594688@N ... 658668904/


And to make this on-topic heres our South Africa gallery as far as I've got.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/22594688@N ... 650728077/
/Neil

User avatar
oddesy
Virtual Ranger
Virtual Ranger
Posts: 3183
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 4:57 pm
Location: Randburg, SA

Unread postby oddesy » Tue Jan 08, 2008 9:48 pm

Does anyone know wether a sigma 1.4x teleconverter will fit onto a tamron lens?? :D
The beginning of knowledge is the discovery of something we do not understand.

"We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit." Aristotle

User avatar
j-ms
Junior Virtual Ranger
Junior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 7:55 pm
Location: Schoenmakerskop (near Port Elizabeth)

Unread postby j-ms » Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:37 am

oddesy5466 wrote:Does anyone know wether a sigma 1.4x teleconverter will fit onto a tamron lens?? :D

It depends on which Tamron lens you are referring to. The Sigma 1.4 (just like the Canon) has a protruding front element. This means it can only be used with lenses that have a recessed rear element. In practice this means that they can only be used with professional quality lenses (in the case of Canon their "L" range and in the case of Sigma their "EX" range and in the casew of Tamron their "SP" range). In particular, I doubt if the Sigma 1.4 will fit any of Tamron Di-II lenses (their lenses meant for crop factor digital cameras) because generally the rear element protrudes as well. The best is to check the 1.4 against the actual lenses you want to use it with.

User avatar
bucky
Senior Virtual Ranger
Senior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 1539
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:41 pm
Location: Gauties .

Unread postby bucky » Wed Jan 09, 2008 8:01 am

The golden rule when using teles is not to shoot wide open, and at least drop by 1 aperture to retain clarity.

I have gotten good results with my 70-200 F4 converter with 1.4 times on it.
It is not as clear with a 2x though.

my 400 F5.6 happily takes clear shots with a 2x convertor but it becomes really slow as you shoot at f11.

The 300 F2.8 I used lately worked superbly with either converter.

The 500F4 worked well with a 1.4 and you had to take care with a 2x, but I managed some decent shots from it when the light was good enough, and the subject still.

User avatar
oddesy
Virtual Ranger
Virtual Ranger
Posts: 3183
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 4:57 pm
Location: Randburg, SA

Unread postby oddesy » Wed Jan 09, 2008 5:01 pm

Thanks bucky :D
I have the DI series lens and it does not have a protruding portion of lens at the rear so i think it will fit , !! :mrgreen: i hope :shock:
The beginning of knowledge is the discovery of something we do not understand.

"We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit." Aristotle

wingman
Junior Virtual Ranger
Junior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:00 am
Location: Durban Kwazulu Natal SA

Converters for Canon which make

Unread postby wingman » Mon Mar 31, 2008 2:01 pm

Hi Im looking for 1.4x and 2x converters to go with canon 70-300mm IS USM lens can anyone give me some idea of which is the best make if canons own converters are not used.

User avatar
bucky
Senior Virtual Ranger
Senior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 1539
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:41 pm
Location: Gauties .

Unread postby bucky » Mon Mar 31, 2008 2:18 pm

Kenko works pretty well for me.

User avatar
DuQues
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Posts: 17941
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:42 pm
Location: Red sand, why do I keep thinking of red sand?

Unread postby DuQues » Mon Mar 31, 2008 2:20 pm

Kenko or Sigma.

But! The quality is quite a bit less than the TC's made by Nikon and Canon, which you'll notice in your photos, especially with the 2x converter!
The Kenko's do not tell your camera that they are there, so you can use the 2x converter. (Your camera will stop with Autofocus after f/5.6....)

Test first I'd say, then decide to go for the Canon 1.4....
Arriving currently: The photos from our trip! Overhere! :yaya:

Feel free to use any of these additional letters to correct the spelling of words found in the above post: a-e-t-n-d-i-o-s-m-l-u-y-h-c

wingman
Junior Virtual Ranger
Junior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:00 am
Location: Durban Kwazulu Natal SA

Unread postby wingman » Mon Mar 31, 2008 3:19 pm

Many Thanks Bucky and DQ the canon site says their own converters will only work with L lenses is this correct or will they work with the above lens as I would prefer to use a canon converter if it will work.

User avatar
DuQues
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Posts: 17941
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:42 pm
Location: Red sand, why do I keep thinking of red sand?

Unread postby DuQues » Mon Mar 31, 2008 3:43 pm

It depends which camera you have.

If you have a EOS 1 or 3 series they will AF up to f/8, above that and you're on manual focus. All other cameras (350D, 30D, 40D and so on) AF up to f/5.6.
The 1.4 TC will cost you 1 stop, the 2x 2 stops....
Arriving currently: The photos from our trip! Overhere! :yaya:

Feel free to use any of these additional letters to correct the spelling of words found in the above post: a-e-t-n-d-i-o-s-m-l-u-y-h-c

wingman
Junior Virtual Ranger
Junior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:00 am
Location: Durban Kwazulu Natal SA

Unread postby wingman » Mon Mar 31, 2008 4:13 pm

Hi DQ thanks for the prompt reply, after the issues I had with my original camera my dealer agreed to allow it to be swopped out so I now have the 40D.

User avatar
DuQues
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Posts: 17941
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:42 pm
Location: Red sand, why do I keep thinking of red sand?

Unread postby DuQues » Mon Mar 31, 2008 4:22 pm

Your lens is f/4 - f/5.6, so at the long end, with TC will not autofocus.

I'm not sure if it'll take a Canon TC, is the back lens well inside your lens? The TC has a protruding bit that enters your lens...
Arriving currently: The photos from our trip! Overhere! :yaya:

Feel free to use any of these additional letters to correct the spelling of words found in the above post: a-e-t-n-d-i-o-s-m-l-u-y-h-c

User avatar
NightOwl
Junior Virtual Ranger
Junior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 3:52 pm
Location: Port Elizabeth

Unread postby NightOwl » Tue Apr 01, 2008 4:43 pm

The 70-300 IS USM is not compatable with the canon converters.
Only the white L lenses are compatable with the Canon converters. Something to do with a protruding lens element

User avatar
j-ms
Junior Virtual Ranger
Junior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 7:55 pm
Location: Schoenmakerskop (near Port Elizabeth)

Unread postby j-ms » Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:57 pm

Nightowl is correct. The Canon and Sigma EX teleconverters have protruding front elements which means they can only be used with lenses that have sufficiently recessed rear elements. With few exceptions (none that I am aware of) these are only Canons L range of lenses (ie professional grade lenses) or Sigma's EX lenses (also professional grade lenses) and then not all of the L or EX lenses have recessed rear elements. With lenses like the Canon 70-300 you might want to try Kenko's teleconverters but be prepared for poor performance in terms of image quality.

User avatar
Neil Crawford
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:04 am
Location: Sweden

Unread postby Neil Crawford » Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:23 pm

I have a Canon prime, the 400L 5.6, and it works very well with a non-reporting
Tamron 1.4x teleconverter, this one:

I see no reduction in sharpness, although I'm sure you can if you really try. It loses
one stop, that's the only disadvantage. Autofocus works well on the Canon 300D
(and the 350D), and I can still take photos of bird in flight, and get a good deal closer.
I also have a Tamron 2X teleconverter, I can see poorer image quality but I suspect
a lot of it is due to camera shake and exposure issues. The 2X teleconverter will
autofocus but rather badly, so I switch to manual focus. Daniella on dpreview
reports that the 2X converter works much better on the Canon 40D.
I don't use the 2X much, but the 1.4X converter is more or less on the camera all the time.
Nearly all the bird and animal photos here are taken with this combo.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/22594688@N08/
Best regards Neil


Return to “Wildlife Photography Enthusiasts”