Skip to content

SANParks.org Forums

View unanswered posts | View active topics

[ 3 posts ] 
 Post subject: Photography courses & reputable shops
Unread postPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 10:57 am 

Hi all! :yaya:

Where to begin oh where to begin?!!

Fisrtly, I apologise if there is another thread on this, but I could not find one using the 'search' function.

I am a very limited photographer to start off with. I enjoy it when I get a photo 'spot on' and crisp, but unfortunately this operator only gets lucky 1/10 times. The rest are just about average.
I always wanted to start off right and learn everything there is to know before I go off and buy stuff that I cannot use to its full potential.
That said, I was fortunate to get a nice 'incentive' at work which made it possible for me to get a Nikon D90 when I visited the UK. I knew at the time this DSLR was way above my knowledge and ability, but I am very keen to get to know it and use it to its full potential.

Before I go on, I have the Nikon D90 with a AF-S Nikkor 18-105mm 1:3.5-5.6G ED lens.

I have taken the time to go through the manual and practised the basic function in the Kruger with it.
To my realization I immediately saw that I will need to get a way bigger lens. :twisted:

So before I go off and rob a bank, I would like to get know all the 'lingo' and terminology etc etc. and get 'streetwise'. It doesn't help buying stuff I you don't even know WHAT you are buying!!

So my question(s):
1. What place/person would you recommend to go for proper photography lessons, i.e. value for money? I would like to get the best out of the D90. I stay in Pretoria...
2. When the day comes to get my lenses, converters etc, which place would you recommend best value for money and good service?

My main objective is to take wildlife photos, I spend quite a bit of time in the Kruger each year and I get :mrgreen: looking at everybody's awesome photos!