Skip to content

SANParks.org Forums

View unanswered posts | View active topics

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  Page 1 of 2
 [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Robbie A Photographic TR.. Mopani to Punda Maria.. Jan 2011
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 8:39 pm 

I realise the purpose of a TR is to share one's experiences during a particular trip but since I am a photographer and not a writer, I have chosen to create my TR of my sightings in photographic form.. If there are any objections, please let me know..

Post subject: Re: Photographic TR.. Mopani to Punda Maria.. Jan 2011
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 9:15 pm 

We entered the park at Phalaborwa after spending the previous night at a B&B trcommended by a forum member.. what a pleasure our hosts were..

It was late morning and I timed our drive up to Mopani to arrive after the ridiculous new check in time of 2pm..driving in the heat of the day at 40 deg when all the animals shelter in the shade.. Not much was seen on our drive up..

After a painless check in we unpacked, the kids had a quick cooling down swim and my son discovered the nest of the Paradise Fly Catcher..

Then off on a quick drive before the gates closed..

The sunset wasn't that dramatic but still nice..

Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 9:33 pm 

From my images you might notice that I am primarily a birder so this is where my images take me..

Up early to leave at 4.30 the next morning.. headed for the S143..

Then back to the camp to chill in the heat of the day..

Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 10:29 am 

Thank you everybody for your kind comments... they are much appreciated..

The afternoon trip we headed out on the S49 loop. Didn't see too much other than some ellies in the distance and the same herd of buffalo from the morning. Also spent some time following a Kori Bustard and allowing my SO to practice her photography skills capturing it.