Skip to Content

Questions & Comments about the cams

Discuss the Orpen (KNP), Satara (KNP), Addo and Nossob (KTP) webcams
User avatar
tigger83
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: JHB

Cam Refresh

Unread postby tigger83 » Fri May 04, 2007 9:45 am

Hi this may seem a little silly but i am really struggling with the Cam, does it update every 30 seconds automatically because mine doesn't and i have to physically click refresh every 30 seconds, and i really miss the good stuff like the hyena last night for instance i was glued to the screen and the picture keeps updating, but the time at the bottom stays the same and only when i click refresh does it change.

Hope this makes sense.

Thanx

User avatar
Skillie
Junior Virtual Ranger
Junior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 584
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 6:02 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Unread postby Skillie » Fri May 04, 2007 9:51 am

Hi tigger83,

Yes the picture will update automatically every thirty seconds but the time will only change when you hit the refresh button. This is normal. It is also useful to tell if the cam is down or stuck as, if when you hit refresh the time doesn't change, then there is a problem and we can let admin know.

Nice highlight of a lovely big Skillie!! :wink: :wink:
Member Stiffnecks
Member LIT club

User avatar
kellyacooper2003
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 2:57 pm
Location: LEEDS, ENGLAND
Contact:

SOUND

Unread postby kellyacooper2003 » Mon May 07, 2007 11:18 pm

Hi all,

I would just like to thank you for this absolutely amazing webcam. Im hooked!

I visited KNP about 6 years ago and it still looks as amazing now as it did then. I miss the park n this webcam gives me the chance to re-live my holiday of a lifetime, so thank you again!

1 question that im sure you get a thousand times is : is there any way of getting the actual sounds of the park on the cam too?

Thanks again,

Kelly xx

User avatar
DuQues
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Posts: 17941
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:42 pm
Location: Red sand, why do I keep thinking of red sand?

Unread postby DuQues » Tue May 08, 2007 9:33 am

I wish.... But that would take up too much bandwidth, which is not too wide anyway. And in the case of Satara you may actually hear some of the noise from the restaurant, depending on the wind. Not what you'd like.
Arriving currently: The photos from our trip! Overhere! :yaya:

Feel free to use any of these additional letters to correct the spelling of words found in the above post: a-e-t-n-d-i-o-s-m-l-u-y-h-c

Erik
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:01 am

webcam times

Unread postby Erik » Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:04 pm

The website says that all times are GMT + 2 hrs = SAST but the webcam clocks show GMT as SAST?????
Erik

User avatar
DuQues
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Posts: 17941
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:42 pm
Location: Red sand, why do I keep thinking of red sand?

Unread postby DuQues » Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:29 pm

Erik, welcome to the forums!

Answer number 1, the cam can be zoomed by remote, and SANParks has done so for while so the visually impaired can also make out which animals are visiting. But the view may be changed again soon.

Answer number 2: I guess you are looking at the Satara webcam. It looks like the lines are down again, so the last update was 2 hours ago. Which shows in the clock, but by chance it's also your time GMT which is showing. :wink:
Arriving currently: The photos from our trip! Overhere! :yaya:

Feel free to use any of these additional letters to correct the spelling of words found in the above post: a-e-t-n-d-i-o-s-m-l-u-y-h-c

User avatar
silvia
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:03 pm
Location: Modena -Italy

Cam spots

Unread postby silvia » Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:39 pm

Hi. I'm Silvia from Italy. These are some pic taken from different Kruger web cam:


Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
:D

User avatar
DuQues
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Posts: 17941
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:42 pm
Location: Red sand, why do I keep thinking of red sand?

Unread postby DuQues » Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:49 pm

Hi and welcome back silvia! :yaya:

The first few are actually not from another cam, but from the old location of the Orpen webcam. The ground was being wrecked though, so SANParks decided to move the cam a few meters.

But its great to step back into history! 8)

Why have we not seen you for so long?
Arriving currently: The photos from our trip! Overhere! :yaya:

Feel free to use any of these additional letters to correct the spelling of words found in the above post: a-e-t-n-d-i-o-s-m-l-u-y-h-c

User avatar
silvia
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:03 pm
Location: Modena -Italy

Unread postby silvia » Thu Nov 01, 2007 5:06 pm

DuQues wrote:Hi and welcome back silvia! :yaya:

The first few are actually not from another cam, but from the old location of the Orpen webcam. The ground was being wrecked though, so SANParks decided to move the cam a few meters.

But its great to step back into history! 8)

Why have we not seen you for so long?



Hi DuQues,
I' ve ever been here :dance:
I read the forum daily but my english is not enough good for talk with all the folks (now I'm having an english course so maybe...)
Greetings from Italy :yaya:

User avatar
fugglefeet
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:56 am
Location: Pietermaritzburg

HOTSPOT - Orpen Cam

Unread postby fugglefeet » Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:21 pm

Is it at all possible for someone to check the light at Orpen cam? The lamp has developed a hotspot in the circuitry causing it to go off and come back on when the hotspot has cooled down. It's electrical of nature.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
fugglefeet
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:56 am
Location: Pietermaritzburg

Unread postby fugglefeet » Fri Dec 07, 2007 9:55 pm

For the curious, this is what a hotspot looks like:-

Image

The lamp switches off.

Image

The lamp slowly powers back up.


This phenomenon occurs mostly with vapour lamps.

User avatar
fugglefeet
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:56 am
Location: Pietermaritzburg

Unread postby fugglefeet » Fri Dec 07, 2007 10:12 pm

Invariably, this is caused by a loose connection somewhere in the electrical circuit. Either at the lamp fitting, the switch or in the distribution panel. First check that all physical connections (where the wires are fastened to the lamp, switch and distribution panel) are properly tightened. The slightest loose connection starts behaving like a thermostat, that when it reaches a certain temperature, it causes an open circuit and disconnects power to the lamp. It may even be that the lamp is not properly screwed into the fitting and this could be the cause of the hotspot.

User avatar
Jay
Senior Virtual Ranger
Senior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 1451
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:10 pm
Location: Golden Mile,West Coast, CFG

Unread postby Jay » Fri Dec 07, 2007 10:15 pm

maaaaybe it's not a hotspot, maybe some little lion couple just wants a little privacy when they go down to the watering hole :wink: ...ok you do know I am joking hey :lol:

Tell you what's interesting though, (being part of the A-Team), I got to get up close and personal with the two webcams, and it's just amazing that they survive out there in the bushvled, beyond the safety of the fences.

User avatar
DebM
Senior Virtual Ranger
Senior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 2954
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:43 pm

Unread postby DebM » Sat Dec 08, 2007 10:20 am

fugglefeet, there has been this hiccup with Orpen cam ever since it came back on. We've learnt to live with it, it was just great to have the cam back up and runnung after so long. May be one day when Danie and his team has a spare minute they might just be able to fix the " privacy mode".
Far away there in the sunshine are my highest aspirations. I may not reach them but I can look up and see their beauty, believe in them, and try to follow them. Louisa May Alcott

User avatar
Freda
Distinguished Virtual Ranger
Distinguished Virtual Ranger
Posts: 2005
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 7:01 am
Location: Marloth Park, South Africa
Contact:

Unread postby Freda » Sat Dec 08, 2007 5:09 pm

I seem to remember that Danie told us that the light would go off now and then for a while, but I have searched and searched and can't find his post :cry:


Return to “Webcams”