Skip to content

SANParks.org Forums

View unanswered posts | View active topics

[ 13 posts ] 
 Post subject: Why isn't it obligatory to deflate your tyres in Kruger
Unread postPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:24 pm 

Hi all,

Seen the post about the "terrible state the gravel roads are in" and wondered why it shouldn't be mandatory to deflate your tyres:
* Less corrugation
* people will drive more carefully as not to damage their tyres
* people will generally drive slower

Except for the enforcing part it seems like this is an easy win. Or do I miss something?

Post subject: Re: Why isn't it obligatory to deflate your tyres in Kruger
Unread postPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:39 pm 
Forum Assistant
Forum Assistant

FAC Member (2012)
I am no expert, but what wouuld we then do on the tar roads, because the air for the tyres is at the camps, and the camps all have tar roads around them, before you can turn off on to a dirt road...............or am I missing something. :whistle:

Unread postPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:08 pm 

There is no problem driving on tar roads with deflated tyres (f.e 1.5 bar). They might wear out a little but it is perfectly safe. So you can inflate them again when leaving the park

Unread postPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:25 am 

MM,

The best tyre pressure depends on the type of tyre (Side wall thickness and flexibility).
The tyre size (Deflating low profile tyres will damage your rims before it helps to soften the ride).
The load you are carrying or if you are towing (The standard tyres on a land cruiser, the marie biscuits, can be pumped to 3.5bar if loaded so 2bar is deflated on those tyres). Other tyres you can drop down to 1.5 bar or even 1bar and still be fine while driving slow. On sand, I have deflated to 0.8 bar before.
The speed you want to drive once you are back on tar. Dont deflate your tyres for the day you are leaving the park. It is extremely unsafe to drive with deflated tyres at highway speeds.