Skip to content

SANParks.org Forums

View unanswered posts | View active topics

[ 8 posts ] 
 Post subject: Childrens knowledge to Conservation and Wildlife
Unread postPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:53 am 
Junior Virtual Ranger
Junior Virtual Ranger

Mods if im not allowed to post this topic you may remove it but Id like some advice here, Im a tutor for children from Grade 1 to Grade 7 and while teaching the kids last week I decided to use pictures of wildlife as a study aid to get the kids to associate the names of animals with words, sounds of letters and so on boy was I shocked to discover that simple animals like an Impala the kids had no idea what it was or they decided it was a springbuck LOL that one i must say sent me into giggles nonetheless I want to help these kids to learn about Animals and get them educated and hopefully if I can get it right to arrange trips in school holidays and physically take them and show them what they are missing out on that would be a costly venture but Education is Power and Im sure someone out their would know who to speak to, to get this up and going for the kids, is their any advice that anyone can give me on how to do any of this, the tools id need, etc? Type of capital this will take? So many kids in today economy I losing the most valuable parts of their existence to lack of money and lifestyle my vision is to change this

Home is where the Heart is and my Heart lies in the Kruger ...FACT!

Post subject: Re: Childrens knowledge to Conservation and Wildlife
Unread postPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 11:06 am 
Forum Assistant
Forum Assistant

FAC Member (2012)
Hi SL,

Just love to see how children react to different animals...........my screen saver at the office is usually of one of our trip to one of the parks and whenever children come in with their parents it's not long before they are standing next to my chair in awe of the animal photos.