Skip to Content

Teleconverters/extenders

Discuss and share your wildlife photography, filming and equipment

Moderator: lion queen

User avatar
Josh of the Bushveld
Junior Virtual Ranger
Junior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 1904
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:15 pm
Location: Johannesburg - too far from the closest Sanpark

Re: 2x Converter or Telephoto Lens

Unread postby Josh of the Bushveld » Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:00 pm

I use a 2x Kenko t/c on my 80-200mm F2.8 I don't have autofocus issues. I think I get better quality than using a Sigma 150-500mm (not had a good chance to compare shots yet).

Duques, bert, should we start a new thread in the Camera Club forum to discuss under and over exposing?
The 'mite formerly known as joshilewis

FGASA Level 1 Guide

Glen Reenen TR

15-18 June: Berg-en-dal

wingman
Junior Virtual Ranger
Junior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:00 am
Location: Durban Kwazulu Natal SA

Re: 2x Converter or Telephoto Lens

Unread postby wingman » Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:32 pm

to see the effect of the converters take a look at the 400mm shootout listed on www.ejphoto.com it is interesting to see the result of this dollar test.

User avatar
big5spotter
Junior Virtual Ranger
Junior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 969
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 7:10 pm
Location: Ruimsig, Gauteng

Re: 2x Converter or Telephoto Lens

Unread postby big5spotter » Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:52 pm

I have had long hard thoughts about this and spoke to allot of people.The canon 100-400 is a better lens than the Sigma 150-500 but the canon costs allot more so for the price of the sigma its more worth it how can I say its more value for money.Think the Canon almost R10 000 more expensive than the sigma and the sigma doesn't produce bad shots.
If I were you get the Sigma or if financially possible the Canon and if you not happy then get a converter.
'When someone shares something of value with you, and you benefit from it, you have a moral obligation to share it with others'


3 Male lions hunting buffalo: The Movie!!!

User avatar
bert
Distinguished Virtual Ranger
Distinguished Virtual Ranger
Posts: 17184
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:02 pm
Location: mind in SA, body in The Netherlands

Re: 2x Converter or Telephoto Lens

Unread postby bert » Wed Feb 17, 2010 8:24 pm

joshilewis , i am slowly moving discussion threads to the camera club thread
Will make one with all the under-and over exposing topic i can find
Will move all technical discussion to the Camera Club
More suited :thumbs_up:

User avatar
vinkie
Senior Virtual Ranger
Senior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 14859
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 7:07 pm
Location: Living in The Netherlands but raised in South Africa

Use a Converter or not?

Unread postby vinkie » Thu Jun 09, 2011 10:35 pm

Hi everybody,

We are going to Kruger in July 2011 and I have read a lot about converters.
I have never used one before and would like to have some advice about this issue before we leave.

Should I buy a converter for my kit(Nikon D7000 with Nikkor AF-S DX 18-105/3.5-5.6G VR and
Nikkor AF-S VR 70-300/4.5-5.6G IF-ED Zoom)? :hmz:

I heard that the range of the zoom is normally 105-450mm with a Nikon DX D-SLR

Would this mess up the pictures or would it extend my range to 600mm using my zoom :mrgreen:


Thanks for the advice

Greetings,

Gert-Jan
Live life on the edge but be careful not to fall off! :wink:

2013 Trip: Satara, Lower Sabie, Hluhluwe, Berg-en-Dal, Lower Sabie, Satara, Elephant Plains(Sabi Sands) :dance:

Our 2013 Trip Report: Vinkie and Apex Predator back in the bushveld

User avatar
DuQues
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Posts: 17941
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:42 pm
Location: Red sand, why do I keep thinking of red sand?

Re: Use a Converter or not?

Unread postby DuQues » Thu Jun 09, 2011 10:46 pm

Gert-Jan, you can use it, but!
The 70-300, which is the only lens you should use it on, will become a f/8 lens with the converter on. Not a problem, except for autofocus. Your camera will not AF with f/8 lenses, so it's manual focus only.

It does mess up pictures a bit, as in that faults in the lens will be enhanced. I'm not using Nikon, so have no idea of the quality of that 70-300. Simple guideline, if it cost less than 1000 euro you might indeed see less quality.

Borrow or hire one, and go birding in Holland. I know quite a few good spots! That will show you what the quality and the handling will be like. Just don't go for herons, they stand still mostly. Try for Gaaien, rietzangers and such. That will be much like photography in Kruger.
Arriving currently: The photos from our trip! Overhere! :yaya:

Feel free to use any of these additional letters to correct the spelling of words found in the above post: a-e-t-n-d-i-o-s-m-l-u-y-h-c

User avatar
vinkie
Senior Virtual Ranger
Senior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 14859
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 7:07 pm
Location: Living in The Netherlands but raised in South Africa

Re: Use a Converter or not?

Unread postby vinkie » Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:02 pm

@DuQues: Thanks for the tip....I don't know if it's possible to hire a converter in Holland?

Don't want to spend too much money on a converter but an Converter Kit for the Nikon costs 200,- euro by Kenko....better to buy a good Flashlight for this money I think :mrgreen:

The 70-300mm lens is a good Super-zoom lens of course a xx-500mm would be nicer but you must have the budget and the time to visit places like Kruger more often :lol: unfortunately we don’t have that opportunity :(

Which spots do you recommend for birding?
Live life on the edge but be careful not to fall off! :wink:

2013 Trip: Satara, Lower Sabie, Hluhluwe, Berg-en-Dal, Lower Sabie, Satara, Elephant Plains(Sabi Sands) :dance:

Our 2013 Trip Report: Vinkie and Apex Predator back in the bushveld

User avatar
DuQues
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Posts: 17941
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:42 pm
Location: Red sand, why do I keep thinking of red sand?

Re: Use a Converter or not?

Unread postby DuQues » Fri Jun 10, 2011 7:54 am

PM sent.
Arriving currently: The photos from our trip! Overhere! :yaya:

Feel free to use any of these additional letters to correct the spelling of words found in the above post: a-e-t-n-d-i-o-s-m-l-u-y-h-c

User avatar
harrys
Junior Virtual Ranger
Junior Virtual Ranger
Posts: 4290
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:22 am
Location: Boksburg

Canon 2x extender

Unread postby harrys » Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:31 pm

Can anyone please tel me what a 2x extender lense do :hmz: , reason why I ask, a friend of my FIL told him that when you use a 2x extender lense on his 300 mm lense it will be like a 600mm lense :hmz:
Say NO to hotels in KNP!!!

KNP:
Lower Sabie:16-21 June 2015
Punda Maria:1-4 August 2015
Shingwedzi:4-10 August 2015

User avatar
saraf
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8639
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 3:19 pm
Location: Portsmouth, England

Re: Canon 2x extender

Unread postby saraf » Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:45 pm

That is exactly what it does.

But. You can only use them on certain lenses, usually only L series but not all of them. And you will loose two F-Stops, making the lens a lot "slower" e.g. on a 2.8 rated lens you would loose 2.8 and 4 so the best F-Stop you would get would be 5.6.
The GREAT 2015 Online Auction is here. Get your bids in soon, it won't be around for ever.

User avatar
DuQues
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Posts: 17941
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:42 pm
Location: Red sand, why do I keep thinking of red sand?

Re: Canon 2x extender

Unread postby DuQues » Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:56 pm

Correct, but there are downsides to it;
- it shows all the faults of the lens.
- autofocus will be slower, or be switched off entirely
- switching it in and out can let dust onto your sensor

Have a look at this page. It is a good appraisal.
On my 100-400 I do use the 1.4, but I do not have AF then, as my 7D will not use AF above f/5.6.

But if you have a good lens (L-series) and you really need the longer lens it is a great tool.
Arriving currently: The photos from our trip! Overhere! :yaya:

Feel free to use any of these additional letters to correct the spelling of words found in the above post: a-e-t-n-d-i-o-s-m-l-u-y-h-c

Geckophobe
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 9:33 am
Location: Pretoria

Which teleconverter to use with Canon 550D?

Unread postby Geckophobe » Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:20 am

I am in the process of buying a better camera (in stead of a good "mik en druk" ) for the first time, and I have decoded on the Canon 550D, the best deal I could find in my budget- and I have seen a number of good reviews also on this forum.

I am looking for a teleconverter to use with the canon 55-250 lens? Which would you recommend?
Satara : 8,9 July 2013
Lower-Sabie : 10,11,12,13, July 2013

User avatar
DuQues
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Honorary Virtual Ranger
Posts: 17941
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:42 pm
Location: Red sand, why do I keep thinking of red sand?

Re: Which teleconverter to use with Canon 550D?

Unread postby DuQues » Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:12 am

To be honest I would recommend none.

Your camera will use autofocus up to f/5.6. The teleconverter will take 1 (1.4x) or 2 (2x) stops of light which means that in combination with your f/4-5.6 lens you will have to use manual focus all the way.

If you decide to buy one anyway I would go for the Canon 1.4, that one does not degrade the image quality. With the 2.0 version you will see the IQ going down.
Arriving currently: The photos from our trip! Overhere! :yaya:

Feel free to use any of these additional letters to correct the spelling of words found in the above post: a-e-t-n-d-i-o-s-m-l-u-y-h-c

User avatar
Kicker Cat
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:27 pm

Re: Which teleconverter to use with Canon 550D?

Unread postby Kicker Cat » Mon Oct 08, 2012 7:59 pm

Hi Gekophobe,

The advice given so far is probably spot on - the reason is that the lens you have is a kit lense - and by the way a very superb one at that. My wife has one of those lenses with her D400 and she gets fantastic pics - in fact I have a 70 - 300 lens that is hugely more expensive and I have to say that it does not give that much better pics.

If you go to a much better lens as I feel sure you will want to do eventually then you can consider a converter and the best one is the 1.4.

Can I add - you will lose about 2 stops on the lense but in the really bright light we have here it does not make that much difference - you should be able to get really good shots - look for a photographer called Gary Parker on the web - his pics are superb and he uses a 1.4 with his 100 - 400 lense.

KR

KC

Geckophobe
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 9:33 am
Location: Pretoria

Re: Which teleconverter to use with Canon 550D?

Unread postby Geckophobe » Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:43 pm

Thank you for the good advice. I have now actually started playing around with the new camera - taking pictures of everything I see:). It is an awesome experience! I have to admit that I have a lot to learn and I have been thinking of taking a course or two. In addition, there is so much useful info on the forum. Can't wait for my next Kruger trip which is unfortunately only in July next year! In the meantime we have atrip to Golden Gate planned-so I will have time to practice.
Satara : 8,9 July 2013
Lower-Sabie : 10,11,12,13, July 2013


Return to “Wildlife Photography Enthusiasts”