Skip to content

SANParks.org Forums

View unanswered posts | View active topics

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  Page 1 of 1
 [ 4 posts ] 
 Post subject: First timer, beginner's luck
Unread postPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 4:32 am 

G'day mites, I'm a newbie and avid follower of the forum and last night was thinking, why isn't there a place for everybody to share all their stories and experiences. Then today I found travel tales. Doh!

So I thought I'd share the tale about my SO, and her first (and so far only) visit to the land of braaivleis, rugby, sunny skies and Chevrolet, and in particular, to the wonders of Kruger.

We visited in Dec 1993 for a week, and I was really worried that we would not see that much because it was the middle of summer. So we get into the park at around 10.00 a.m. through Numbi Gate and make our way slowly down to BnD, and within 5 minutes we see a magnificent sable close to the road, then a few beautiful ellies, giraffe (her favourite) and so on. So I'm starting to feel a bit more relaxed.

I should mention that my GLW is an Aussie who has never set foot in Africa and is very much an urbanite, and so just plans to go with the flow. So we have a very good day's viewing, so much so that I finish the spool in my camera (it's 1993, people!). And late that afternoon we're dawdling along towards BnD, and 2 leopards dash across the road right in front of us, and then settle in the ditch along the side of the road, 10 m from our car. And just look at us, mum snarling a bit, but still right there! I quickly load a spare film into my camera and shoot a whole roll, after which the female moved into the bushes and stops about 30m away, and starts meticulously removing the hair from a small antelope it had obviously killed earlier. Just amazing, and during all this time, there were only 2 other cars to stop around us to enjoy this experience.