Skip to content

SANParks.org Forums

View unanswered posts | View active topics

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  Page 1 of 1
 [ 8 posts ] 
 Post subject: trip report 2010
Unread postPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 7:56 pm 

Here goes this is my first attempt (well second really I have just lost the first attempt) at writing a trip report.
This our 2nd visit to the park in 9mths but we were just as excited as the first time. After a long flight from the UK and a stop over in Witbank we arrived at the park it looks amazing so beautiful and green

We had a couple of hours drive saw lots of baby impala's they are so sweet

After spending some time watching them this Rhino crossed the road in front of us good thing we were going slow it appeared out of nowhere

Took some photo's of these beauties

We had a lovely but tiring first day but Orpen camp had the best bit to come 3 Honey Badgers on the rampage for food they were a bit scary but what a thrill to see them
not very good pic's as they were so fast

DAY 2
Up at 4am out of the camp by 4.30am travelled up the H7 spent 30 min watching a troop of baboons

Then came across a few cars looking at 3 lions with a kill we got ourselves into a good position and camera at the ready when another car parked right in front of us and completly blocked our view I can't repeat what was said in our car but it wasn't nice, but as we drove of the Male lion carried the kill further into the bush so we didn't miss out in the end.
Afternoon drive quiet but enjoyed seeing baby animals everywhere

Honey Badgers back in the camp tonight but they came earlier and were much more aggressive growling and showing their teeth but so exciting to see them.
DAY 4
Moved to Satara today not many sightings on the way but as we watch anything that moves

we were quite happy
The added bonus another Honey Badger in the camp better pic's this time

DAY 5 to be continued

Post subject: Re: trip report 2010