Skip to content

SANParks.org Forums

View unanswered posts | View active topics

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  Page 1 of 1
 [ 1 post ] 
 Post subject: Snoobab in Satara : Sept 2007
Unread postPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 12:09 pm 
Virtual Ranger
Virtual Ranger

Back in the Rat Race after an excellent trip to Kruger.
I’m not very good at these trip reports but I do think this trip needs mentioning. I spent from 21st to 29th Sept camping at Satara. I will do a separate report in the Satara thread about the camp site itself.
For those non believers I’m sorry to inform you, but the S100 rocks.
We entered at Orpen Gate and travelled to Satara on the H7. For the first time this road did not produce like it normally does. For the duration of our stay we did the H7 twice and both times saw almost nothing. Wild Dog were reported near Talamati on a daily bases, so those going there soon keep a watch out for them. Unfortunately the area produced very little other game and the roads around there are very corrugated. On most days the Wild Dog were reported on the S36, S145 and the S106. Gordon the night drive guide said they are resident in the area and are seen quite often. I had no luck. :(
The H1-4 tar road to Olifants was very good with loads of general game. There is a huge resident Lion pride that hang around from Ngotso pan south up to Ngotso Dam. We saw them on both occasions we did the trip to Olifants, on one trip we saw the pride at a Buff kill and it looked like there were about 16 odd lions with some cubs. We also saw Lions at the S90 junction and they were spotted around there also on a daily bases.
Olifants area was quiet but we did spot Leopard on the S92 near Balule and heard other people say they also saw leopard around there quite often.
Our area of concentration was the H6 tar to Nwanetsi, down the S41 to Gudzani and back on the S100.