Skip to content

SANParks.org Forums

View unanswered posts | View active topics

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  Page 1 of 2
 [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Lisa and Mark's Kruger trip : 29 Dec '06 - 6 Jan '07
Unread postPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 4:25 pm 

Mark and I recently returned from a wonderful trip to Kruger. We haven't even loaded all of our photos onto our computer yet so putting together this trip report may take a while. But I want to thank everyone here on the forums who patiently answered our myriad questions asking for advice on where to stay, which roads to drive, etc. This would be our second time in Kruger, after a 3-night stay in Olifants in 2003. We had planned this trip for almost a year and really had a fantastic time.

Mark surprised me on Christmas Day with the gift of a new Canon 30D, so my photos reflect the fact that I am still learning how to use it. Hopefully with practice I will get better.

We left Washington DC on Dec. 27th, changed planes in Paris, and arrived at JNB on Dec. 29th around 7:30 AM. By the time we got through the lines at immigration it was around 8:30, and by the time we picked up our Nissan X-trail at National it was about 9:30AM. Thanks to the directions we found here on the forum we had no trouble getting out of the airport and were soon on our way to Kruger!

We stopped someplace for lunch and later (again on the advice of forumites) stopped at the Spar in Malelane to stock up on a few provisions for our 8 days in Kruger. We bought a cooler but being a holiday weekend they were sold out of ice...and it was starting to get HOT...