Skip to content

Media & News

50 years of conservation acknowledged

Date: 9th October 2013

The South African National Parks Honorary Rangers was recently awarded a prestigious national conservation award by WESSA for its contribution to conservation in our national parks.

The award was motivated as follows: “For their amazing voluntary contribution towards the conservation of all of our National Parks. For over 50 years these men and women have given freely of their time, expertise and resources to ensure the integrity and endurance of our Parks system.”

Accepting the award National Executive Committee Chairman Mr. Janssen Davies said; “I was delighted to receive this award on behalf of the 1 300 volunteer SANParks Honorary Rangers. Our members have worked with great dedication and commitment to conservation and SANParks and the national parks system over the last 50 years.”

The Honorary Rangers has 31 regions all over South Africa from Cape Agulhas in the South to Thohoyandou in the North. They work in all 21 of our national parks to assist the parks and promote nature conservation and public education. They provide ordinary South Africans from all walks of life the opportunity to help promote and conserve our natural heritage. Members of the public are encouraged to join the organisation and can get more information on their website at

WESSA Award 
Mr. Janssen Davies, National Chairperson of the SANParks Honorary Rangers, flanked by WESSA patron, Andile Sangqu, and WESSA Chairman of the Board, Dr Richard Lewis.

Issued by:
Louis Lemmer,
SANParks Honorary Rangers NEC
Tel: 012 567 5580 

  • Twitter
  • delicious
  • Digg
  • Reddit
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Yahoo! Bookmarks
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • StumbleUpon
  • Live
  • NewsVine
  • Slashdot
  • muti
  • Technorati
  • E-mail to a friend