Skip to content

Media & News

Media Release: Nominations for SANParks Kudu Awards 2009 now open

Date: 19th February 2009

Nominations for the Annual Kudu Awards organised by the South African National Parks (SANParks) are now open.

Nominations for the Annual Kudu Awards organised by the South African National Parks (SANParks) are now open.

This according to SANParks, Chief Executive, Dr David Mabunda, who said the awards is an initiative that aims to recognize external stakeholders for their contributions and efforts in making South African National Parks the custodian of choice for the national parks system in South Africa. “It aims at enhancing equitable and sustainable relationships with various external communities with a particular caring interest to the national parks of our country and conservation of our natural heritage in general.”

He said the event, now in its fifth year, has seen a good interest from members of the public in the last few years and which last year saw a massive contribution of R200 000 for the prizes from FNB. “This shows that there is a lot of passion for our parks from our patrons and all have a need to be recognised as the best in conservation of our biodiversity.”

“It is for this reason that we need to celebrate these achievements by paying tribute to those who worked effortlessly in putting conservation in the forefront of our society’s focus.”

Different award categories

The awards will be made in four different categories. The first being the Corporate Contribution to Conservation Award – this category recognises organisations/companies/persons that have made significant contributions to conservation, whether through the awarding of land, funds, human resources or have entered into a business relationship with SANParks. This award compromises of sets of awards: Business Partner of the Year (an internal award), Individual Contribution, Corporate Contribution – Profit Making Institutions as well as Corporate Contribution – Non Profit Making Institution.

The second award category is the Environmental Media Contribution to Conservation – this award is presented to conservation/environmental journalists/media entities that have been considered to have conducted their reporting in a socially responsible manner and have also given extensive and balanced reporting on conservation related matters. The award consists of two sets of categories: Best Journalist (Across of All Media) and Best Publication/Programme/Website/Documentary.

The third category looks at the Community Contribution to Conservation – this award is given to an individual/group/project that has advanced the cause of sustainable conservation of our biodiversity and cultural heritage. There are also two sets of awards in this category: Community Contributor to Conservation and the Honorary Ranger of the Year (an internal award).

The last category is Environmental Education/Capacity Building Award – this award is given to an educator/group of educators who have contributed to educational programmes that further the conservation of our biodiversity and cultural heritage.

We hereby invite all members of the public to submit their nominations of individuals, groups or companies involved in conservation within the above categories for the Kudu Award by 30 April 2009.

The awards winners will be announced at a function in Pretoria in June. For more information and nomination forms contact Itshekeng Mokone on telephone (012) 426 5058/e-mail: or Reynold Thakhuli on (012) 426 5203/email:

Media inquiries:
Reynold “Rey” Thakhuli, General Manager: Media Relations and Events, tel: (012) 426 5203 / 073 264 6144, e-mail:

  • Twitter
  • delicious
  • Digg
  • Reddit
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Yahoo! Bookmarks
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • StumbleUpon
  • Live
  • NewsVine
  • Slashdot
  • muti
  • Technorati
  • E-mail to a friend