Skip to content

Media & News

Morula Kids Winners 2006

Morula Kids Winners Announced!

"The annual Morula Kids Competition for 2006 has been a resounding success", says Maria Moate, Manager of Environmental Education at SANParks. The competition is one of various environmental education programmes offered by SANParks, and focuses on learners at the General Education and Training Level (GET).

"Learners and educators are encouraged to use their creativity to respond to challenges facing conservation and sustainable use of natural resources within protected areas. SANParks congratulates all the winners, each of whom receives a three day trio to their nearest park, a Wild Card, and a certifictate to commemorate their acheivement," says Moate.

Moate believes that this project has been a success because of the various partners involved. "There has been great support from the media, especially SABC-TV education, our various National Parks, through their People and Conservation Officers, individuals, a network of schools, environemental NGOs, our judges and the Pretoria Region Honorary Rangers, our various SANParks' departments and the secretariate for the project and our donors", she says, "thank you all and congratulations to the deserving winners".

Winning Entry Grade 3-5:

Christiaan Janse van Rensburg, Chanika Viljoen, Christi Greeff, Felicia Hinsbeeck and Lebo Leogang from Sonitus School Vir Hardhorendes.








Second Place Grade 3-5:

Wesley Booyzen, Jonatahn Terblanche, Chawel Louw, Emile Neumeier and Nadia Buhner from Laerskool Krugersdorp-Noord







Third Place Grade 3-5:

Suman Nun Kumar, Danielle Cairns, David Long, Toni Thord-Gray and Carlos Eisenring from Howick Prep



Winning Entry Grade 6-7

Ealinn Fogwill, Stefan van Aarde, Cornellius Rheeders, Melissa da Costa and Alexis Niwewoudt from Laerskool Krugersdorp-Noord







Second Place Grade 6-7

Ruan Drijfhout, Surita Hanekom, Mari Hanekom, Tertius Dove and BJ Rens from Tortius Akademie





Third Place Grade 6-7

Jonathan Danks, ONiell Debnerang, Benjamin Genis, Ashton Dunbar and Justin Muller from Amanzimtoti Primary School.





There were also a number of merit award winners that you can see in the 2006 Morula Kids Gallery